Friday, February 23, 2007

The New 7 Wonders of the World: Vote for Chichén Itzá

Image: Chichen Itza © Mexico Tourism Board

If you’ve ever been to Chichén Itzá in the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico, you know what an incredible historical monument it is. Dating back to before 800 A.D., this ancient Mayan city and temple has been nominated as one of the New 7 Wonders of the World.

On July 7, 2007, the New 7 Wonders of the World will be officially declared in Lisbon, Portugal. The 21 sites nominated include: The Acropolis of Athens, The Alhambra, Angkor, The Pyramid at Chichén Itzá, Christ Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, The Roman Colosseum, TheStatues of Easter Island, The Eiffel Tower, The Great Wall of China, The Hagia Sophia, The Kiyomizu Temple, The Kremlin and Red Square, Machu Picchu, Neuschwanstein Castle, Petra, The Pyramids of Giza, The Statue of Liberty, Stonehenge, The Sydney Opera House, The Taj Mahal, and Timbuktu.

Go to to cast your vote today!

No comments:

2007 Stray Travel Publications, Inc.